Awesome Things My Wife Does #2

I am incredibly blessed to have an absolutely beautiful and incredibly thrifty wife, Rachel. To help our budget stretch a little bit each month, Rachel braves the wild and untamed reaches of Aldi Super Market near downtown Raleigh. Aldi is a discount grocery store that sells private label brands at a fraction of the cost of other grocery stores. But those great deals often come at a price of the comforts and frills of other grocery stores.

Please, don’t get me wrong, I love Aldi. I think it is the best grocery store and I absolutely love the people who work there. Any place I can get a bag of tortilla chips for $1.09 is a place where I want to shop. But I am a guy whose main criteria in life is a lot of red meat in my diet, rather than a pleasurable shopping experience.

But for a busy mom, Aldi can be a difficult place to shop in! You borrow a shopping cart for 25 cents, and only if you return the shopping cart may you get your quarter back. If you do not have a quarter, you do not have a shopping cart and you must carry a box of groceries around the store. Having lived through such scenarios I’ve felt like society is collapsed all around me and I am trying to get as many supplies as I can to survive.

Many people like to shop at a nicer grocery store with more perks, frills, and amenities, maybe even just grocery bags (Aldi charges you for them) but Rachel throws herself into the fray and shops for the best deals she possibly can. And that is just one more awesome thing my wife does.

Leave a Reply

